Nowhere Is Safe!

“Fight Against Stupidity And Bureaucracy”

.

One would hope that libraries, being depositories of knowledge, would be a place relatively safe from the intellectually challenged.

Sadly, stupid people invade every space, libraries included.

To prove the point here is a short selection of actual stupid questions asked of librarians. 

Enjoy.

.

.

“Do you have books here?”

.

.

“Do you have a list of all the books written in the English language?”

library cartoon

.

.

“Do you have a list of all the books I’ve ever read?”

.

.

“I’m looking for Robert James Waller’s book, ‘Waltzing through Grand Rapids.”

(The actual title is “Slow Waltz In Cedar Bend.”)

library2 cartoon

.

.

“Where is the reference desk?”

(Asked of a worker sitting at a desk, over which was a sign saying ‘REFERENCE DESK’.)

.

.

“Can you tell me why so many famous Civil War battles were fought on National Park sites?”

library3 cartoon

.

.

“Which outlets in the library are appropriate for my hairdryer?”

.

.

“I was here about three weeks ago looking at a cookbook that cost $39.95. Do you know which one it is?”

library4 cartoon

.

.

“I need a color photograph of George Washington.”

(Other individuals asked for, by other patrons, are Christopher Columbus, King Arthur, Moses, Socrates, and more.)

.

.

“Do you have any books with photographs of dinosaurs?”

library5 cartoon

.

.

“I’m looking for information on carpal tunnel syndrome. I think I’m having trouble with it in my neck.”

.

.

“Is the basement upstairs?”

library6 cartoon

.

.

“I am looking for a list of laws that I can break that would send me back to jail for a couple of months.”

.

.

“I got a quote from a book I turned in last week but I forgot to write down the author and title. It’s big and red, and I found it on the top shelf. Can you find it for me?”

library7 cartoon

.

.

“Do you have anything good to read?”

The response was,

“No, ma’am. I’m afraid we have 75,000 books, and they’re all duds.”

.

.

Dumbass: “I am looking for a globe of the earth.”

Librarian: “We have a table-top model over here.” 

Dumbass: “No, that’s not good enough. Don’t you have a life-size?”

Librarian: (pause) “Yes, but it’s in use right now.”

.

.

And finally a joke.

 

Man goes up to the library reference desk and asks the assistant,

“Do you have a copy of that new book for men with small penises?”

The librarian replies,

“I don’t think it’s in yet.”

“Yes,” the man says. “That’s the one!”

.

============================

.

10 thoughts on “Nowhere Is Safe!

Comments are welcome. If you would like to make one on this post this is the place to do it.

